Anyone who has Celiac Disease knows how difficult it is to go out to eat or even decide what to buy in the grocery store. Products labeled, ‘gluten free’, are not always gluten free. When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease I went straight from the doctors office to the grocery store and bought every prepackaged item that was labeled gluten free. The items I had purchased had other ingredients such as Barley, Rye, and Oats. The FDA does not require Barley, Rye, and Oats to be labeled by their source name. Just because a label says wheat free does not necessarily mean it is gluten free. This is a big problem for Celiacs. The gluten protein causes damage to the intestines, which inhibits the absorption of nutrients you need from your food. I realised I was going to have to be more vigilant if I was going to keep gluten out of my diet. So I have compiled a list of gluten-ingredients you want to stay away from if you are Celiac or are gluten intolerant.

  • Barley
  • Binder or binding
  • Bulgur
  • Cereal
  • Cereal binders or cereal protein
  • Couscous
  • Duram (durum)
  • Einkorn
  • Emulsifiers
  • Farina
  • Filler
  • Flour
  • Frumento
  • Graham
  • Gum base
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut
  • Lectins (May come from Barley)
  • Malt
  • Maltodexterin (Is usually made from Barley Malt)
  • Manna
  • Matzo
  • Matzah
  • Matzoh
  • Modified food starch
  • Modified starch
  • Monosodium Glutamate (Some manufacturers use wheat)
  • Natural Flavoring (May contain gluten derivatives)
  • Oats
  • Rusk
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Special edible starch
  • Spelt
  • Starch
  • Thickener or thickening
  • Triticale (a hybrid of wheat and rye)
  • Wheat alternative

For people suffering from celiac disease and other gluten intolerances avoiding gluten is crucial for your health.

Take this list on your next shopping trip and learn to spot the hidden gluten in foods you consume.